York Union of Golf Clubs


2022 YU Junior Champion is Max Hollinghurst

Sunday 22nd May 2022

22nd May 2022 at Kirkbymoorside GC

With mainly a new generation of Juniors, today was going to herald in a new Junior Champion from the York Union up at Kirkbymoorside Golf Club and a tense day evolved for the players and parents present.

The mid-session pace was set by Malton & Norton's Alfie Messias and Sean Burrows who both carded 76 in the morning, with Luke Winterburn (Forest Park) and Max Hollinghurst (Scarthingwell) close behind on 77.

With most of the field playing Kirkbymoorside for the first time, it is fair to say that the energy levels required for 36 holes round York Unions most undulating course took its toll, but not however for our Champion who returned a strong final round of gross 74 and together with an opening 77, total 151, meant Max Hollinghurst becomes this years Junior Champion and the first from Scarthingwell GC.

Runner up was Sean Burrows, 3rd to Alfie Messias with best nett score going to Harrison Jones (Fulford) and nett runner up Christian Weights (Fulford)

Finally our thanks go to Kirkbymoorside GC and past President, Andy Holmes for the hospitality and course and the many Parents who ensure our Junior section get the chance to play in our fantastic events up and down our Union.

2021 York Union Annual Dinner & Presentation Night

Thursday 9th December 2021

Friday 26th November, Fulford GC

The annual Union Dinner and Presentation Night was back this year with much enthusiasm and support from our winners, fellow members and distinguished guests from within the County.

President Michael Ward, Secretary Tina Readman and Competition Secretary Andy Robson hosted an enjoyable evening of fine food and service, courtesy of Fulford Golf Club, with the vast majority of this years winners in attendance to be presented with their Trophies and take home mementoes.

The loudest response of the night went to multiple winner, Thomas Pyman from The Oaks GC on his receipt of the Hardman Trophy. This is the only discretionary award of the night going to the Junior Boy or Girl who produced exceptional achievements through the year. After much encouragement, Tom eventually delivered a speech to thank everybody for coming and supporting him on his excellent year's golf.


Marcus Brigham takes Order of Merit Title

Monday 27th September 2021

2021 Scratch Championships & IDU Order of Merit Results

Yesterdays resolution of the Matchplay Finals meant the Scratch Championship season is now complete and of the 63 players who qualified for points this year, we now have a winner in Marcus Brigham of Malton & Norton GC.

Marcus pipped George Robson by 1 point and Matty Dolling by 3, so it was a really close run season. Congratulations to Marcus on retaining the OOM title and for claiming the Chilton Bowl which goes to the player with the most points awarded for the Inter District Union matches.


Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.